Kookaburra Kids CEO Pam Brown Named 1 of 6 Finalists in the 2017 Australian Mental Health Prize

It is a great honour for Pam Brown, CEO of the Australian Kookaburra Kids Foundation to have been selected as one of six finalists for the 2017 National Mental Health Prize.
The six finalists were selected from 56 entries across Australia, by the Australian Mental Health Prize advisory group, chaired by Ita Buttrose AO OBE.
Mrs Brown is among finalists who have all demonstrated their outstanding contributions to the Mental Health of Australians.
Here’s a little more information on Pam Brown’s nomination

  • As CEO of Australian Kookaburra Kids Foundation since 2008, and their volunteer before that, Pam has been a passionate advocator and service provider for children who live with family members with mental illness.
  • Under Pam’s leadership and collaboration with expert psychologists, Kookaburra Kids has developed a unique program combining respite, psycho-education, peer support, clinical support and creative and recreational activities through weekend camps and activity days.
  • Over 1,300 children in NSW benefit from the program, due primarily to Pam’s extensive advocacy and information-sharing with mental health service providers, schools and other referral agents.
  • Pam is a staunch advocate for these children, continuously lobbying government from all levels and potential funding bodies to build awareness of the risks these children face to their own mental health and future outcomes.
  • Such lobbying resulted in Kookaburra Kids’ first federal government funding in 2016, for a national program helping Defence children of parents with PTSD.
  • Pam’s vision to help children across Australia is being realised with Kookaburra Kids embarking on a national rollout.

The Hon Greg Hunt MP, Minster for Health announced dual winners, Janet Meagher, a champion for the rights of people with mental health issues, and Professor Allan Fels, Chairman of the National Mental Health Commission at a ceremony on 20 November 2017.

About the Australian Mental Health Prize
Established in 2016, by UNSW through its School of Psychiatry, Australia’s pre-eminent psychiatric research department, the Australian Mental Health Prize recognises Australians who have made outstanding contributions to either the promotion of mental health, or the prevention/treatment of mental illness.